President Stoelb Will Not Seek Reelection

At Conference 2019, delegates will have the opportunity to vote for many candidates vying to represent their fellow OSEA members at the state and national levels; however, one name that’s long familiar with voters will not appear on the ballot this year.

OSEA President Tim Stoelb has decided to retire at the end of June. He has served on the OSEA Board of Directors since 2010 — first as Zone V director before being elected president in 2012. At seven years, Stoelb is the second longest serving OSEA president after Merlene Martin, who served for nine years.

“It’s time to pass on the torch of leadership,” Stoelb said. “I encourage anyone who cares deeply about OSEA to consider throwing their hat in the ring.”

In addition to voting for Stoelb’s successor, Conference delegates will also vote for the offices of vice president and secretary; directors for Zones I, III, IV, V and VII; director and alternate director for the American Association of Classified School Employees (AACSE); and delegates to the Oregon AFL-CIO Convention.

Nominations may be made any time prior to the close of the first Conference business session on Friday, June 28, but members are strongly encouraged to declare their candidacy by March 1, which gives them the opportunity to have a candidate statement published in the May-June Journal. Download an officer or delegate nomination form (PDF). Nominees must be active members in good standing.

“When members agree to become more active in their union — everyone benefits,” Stoelb said.