That’s A Wrap on Conference 2023

I just finished chairing my first Conference as OSEA state president, and all I can say is, “Wow!” OSEA is an amazing union made up of truly exceptional members. There is nothing more powerful than when our OSEA family gets together!

As I told delegates during Conference, every OSEA member contributes their own unique sparkle and when we are together, we shine bright! This weekend, Conference delegates tackled important business impacting our entire union. We also danced, played, laughed and celebrated together. Thank you to all the delegates who traveled to Portland to represent your chapters. You made this Conference a success, and our union wouldn’t work without you!

The fall issue of the Journal, (arriving in August) will include a full summary of Conference 2023. For now, I’ve listed some highlights below.


Delegates elected a new Zone I director, Misty Talerico of Tillamook Chapter 28. Sella Bemrose of North Santiam Chapter 122 and Lisa March of Ashland Chapter 42 won re-election as directors of Zone III and Zone V, respectively. The position of Zone VII remains vacant — Zone VII members, please consider joining our Board to represent members in your area, and watch for more information about filling this seat soon.

Delegate Actions

Delegates debated and took action on three resolutions, the annual budget and the next location for Conference. The following actions were taken:

  • Resolution 1: Recognizing OSEA Representation was adopted.
  • Resolution 2: Status of the American Association of Classified School Employees (AACSE) was adopted.
  • Resolution 3: Election Committee Duties was adopted.
  • The proposed budget for the 2023-24 fiscal year was adopted.
  • Conference will be held in the same location, the Holiday Inn Portland — Columbia Riverfront, in 2024, 2025 and 2026.


At Conference, we also celebrate OSEA members and give extra recognition to those who go above and beyond.

  • Sandra Gibson of Willamette ESD Employees Association Chapter 95 was honored as the 2023 Member of the Year
  • Kyrsti Sackman of Beaverton Chapter 48 received the 2023 President’s Award
  • Chelsea Shotts of Tigard-Tualatin Chapter 51 received the Government Relations Member Advocate Award
  • 29 chapters earned incentives through the Membership Incentive Program (MIP).
  • 23 chapters were recognized for achieving membership growth of at least 15 percent
  • Springfield Chapter 4, Centennial Chapter 113 and Central Chapter 124 received Newsy Awards for excellent chapter communications, and Sherwood Chapter 103 was named the overall Newsy winner.

It has been an honor to serve as your president this last year and I can’t wait to see all that OSEA members accomplish together in the years to come. Until we are together again, continue to shine bright!

In solidarity,

Sarah Wofford
OSEA President